I’m Back!!!!

Its been almost two months since my last post. Things had gotten very busy with finishing up my doctorate, looking for jobs etc. All that is done and I will be moving to Ann Arbor, Michigan in a few weeks to start my new job there! I’m going to miss my grad school days.

In bike related news, I haven’t done any exciting rides in the last two months, just a few favorite local routes. However, I just put two new Pirelli MT66 tires on my bike today. Ordered them online and had them mounted at Pro Stock Performance on Harrison Ave. I’ll get a chance to scrub them in this weekend on a trip to French Lick, Indiana. Also got a free dyno run at the shop using the coupon provided in the Dynojet kit I’d used when I rejetted the bike. Lets just say I’m less than thrilled with the peak horsepower of my bike ( Less than 50hp). I think its time for that new bike I’ve been planning on getting for a year.

I also ordered a pair of Tourmaster Winter Elite gloves online. They won’t be here by this weekend, but hopefully my old gloves will do the job. The temperature is expected to range between 30° and 55° F.

The fall colors were not great this year at least in these parts but I’ll have pictures from the upcoming trip posted sometime next week.

 

15 Responses to I’m Back!!!!

  1. Vinny,

    I was begging to wonder what happened to you. Congrats on the PhD. That takes a lot of work!

    It’s too bad we never got that ride in. Hope all goes well for you in Michigan.

    Brent

  2. Let us all know how the Winter Elite gloves work out. I looked at them closely before deciding on mittens but have always wondered how well the rain covers built into the gloves would also cut down on cold getting to the hands.

    Nice to see you back and posting.

    Steve Williams
    Scooter in the Sticks

  3. allen says:

    Congrats my friend…all those hard hours of studying have paid off!

    I feel your pain on the horsepower thing. I was returning from south GA fighting a headwind last week and the bike was losing 10mph up hill. That just plain sucks. Wishing for a little bigger V-twin here!

  4. giest says:

    I definitely want to know how those gloves work out and in what temperatures. Mine are garbage and I can’t feel my hands by the time I get to work. Temperatures here are around 19 F now…not sure if anything is gonna work…lol.

  5. KT Did says:

    Good luck with the schooling. We all need time to reorganize and it sounds like you have been busy! I could have used a good pair of gloves on the Love Ride–my hands were cold. I chose not to wear gauntlets as I wanted to “feel” the throttle (its very touchy)–big mistake–my old lady hands were frozen.

  6. Sharon says:

    Vinny, I know how you feel about being away! Congrats on finishing and getting a J.O.B.! I did two post-docs at the University of MI (I was made an offer there but didn’t accept). You’ll like the town, a tad small for my taste but a wonderful community–and some really great places to eat. One of the best Borders around–it all started there. Lots of great bookstores.

  7. Arthur says:

    Hey, Welcome Back! :)

    No problem, I will update you on some cool bike related news. The MotoCycle Corp guys are running a contest for Tony Stewart Moto 50.

    Grand prize winner will be selected on Daytona 2008. Looks cool! The ad is on their homepage: http://www.motocyclecorp.com

  8. Sunil says:

    Good luck, Vinod at Ann Arbor. Hope the job is going fine.
    Sunil

  9. Biker Betty says:

    Congratulations on your new job and finishing school. I hope the new job is working out. I have those exact gloves. They do keep my hands warm, but are very bulky. I can’t feel my clutch too well and slip the clutch with them. How are they working for you?

  10. Srinidhi says:

    Hey buddy,
    Where are you located? I am currently travelling in US. California/ Dallas. Was curious to know if we could sync up sometime… trying to meet bikers here..

  11. Peter says:

    Hey Vinod,
    How is the Nolan N102 working out for you? I was planning to buy a Nolan N103 but I have been hearing bad rep for N102. Please give us a review !

  12. saurabh says:

    hi, i recently went bikin in nandi hills in bangalore on a tvs apache….yep thats the best i can afford, its actually a sporty bike, i had a question how do you avoid excruciating back pain on long rides…..cz by the time i came back i was well half dead

  13. eunice says:

    Hi! I came across your site and thought it would be great for our clients from
    motor/insurance related companies. Are you interested to discuss further? Also,
    do you have other blogs too?

    Hope to hear from you soon. =)

    Regards,
    Eunice

  14. Joy says:

    Congrats on the Phd. Hope you will ride more from now on. Keep rocking dude.

  15. Peter says:

    Are you still around Vinod? All work and no motorcycling?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

