Installed “cruise control”

I installed the Universal Vista throttle lock yesterday and got a chance to test it out. While its not a true cruise control that holds the speed constant, this is a clever device that could prove to be very effective in relieving wrist cramps on long rides. There were more expensive options available, including electronic cruise control systems, but I wanted something simple and cheap. I’m not a big fan of interstate cruising anyway, so I would be using the device only on those flat, long stretches of interstate when I need to get somewhere fast. When set, the device holds the throttle at its position, but it can be easily overridden manually in case of an emergency. I’ll get a chance to test it out on the interstate this weekend on the trip to Bardstown, KY.

Universal Vista Cruise Control

6 Responses to Installed “cruise control”

  1. David says:

    hey cool.. one of my friends got me one like that.. its supposed to ease the effort on the wrist from holding the throttle for a long time. And on an enfield, riding for about 10 hours straight and playing with the throttle can be quite a pain..

    ride safe brother

    D

  2. vinodv says:

    Forget the wrist.. on long rides it’s your right shoulder that hurts like hell.. especially if you are like me with no windshield. You can take the left hand off the handle but not the right one..

    The new blog looks great.

  3. A says:

    nice blog! would like 2 meet u sometime!;)

  4. giest says:

    I installed one of those before my trip to Niagara Falls, Ontario. There is no way I could have survived the trip without it. Like you, I ride without a windshield and after prolonged rides my arm is killing me from the shoulder down.

  5. Sharon says:

    I bought a throttle lock/wrist rest and never installed it. Since I’m gravitating more and more toward distance riding, I thought it might be a good idea to reconsider its utility. Although I’ve done days of 300 miles without too much wrist discomfort, my throttle wrist is held together by a 6 inch titanium implant. I need to protect that area from excessive stress. Thus, I’m looking forward to your review.

  6. ezrider1978 says:

    You can get the Universal Vista unit to fit most bikes. Its pretty simple: a rubber fitting goes around the throttle and the switch tightens the hold on the throttle, holding it in position. You can override it by flicking the switch off with your thumb or by simply twisting the throttle back manually in an emergency. However, the unit is not linked in any way to the braking system. There are fancier throttle locks that will deactivate on applying the front brake from BrakeAway Products.

    I think its a nifty little device, even though it can only hold speed steady of you are on a straight, flat road, it still gives the throttle arm a break.

Leave a Reply

