Weekend Update

On Friday, I was at a get together at my friend Rajeev’s place and got to test ride his Ducati Monster 750ie around the block. It was fun. I also had one of those “its a small world” moments when another guest at the party turned out to be Eric, the creator of the Open Road Journey website! We stayed late, talking bikes and sharing our trip experiences.

Sunday was a perfect day to spend outdoors. After a bicycle ride in a nearby state park, Angie and I took the ferry across to Kentucky with John, Aimee and Greg to ride on some back roads. We stopped at Rabbit Hash and our favorite destination in Kentucky, Jane’s Saddlebag. Rabbit Hash was teeming with bikers and the Woolly Mammoth burgers were excellent as usual, at Jane’s Saddlebag. It was a great ride.

About the new gear: I really like the Tour Master Transition jacket and the Venture pants. They are very comfortable and I like the idea of having all that armor on while riding. The jacket has plenty of vents to keep the air flowing on warm days. The Nolan N102 Com helmet took some getting used to. The helmet itself is very comfortable but has this new strap attachment system (not the tried and tested D-ring mechanism) that I find mildly uncomfortable. I am also on the fence about the Vision Protection System, the tinted half-visor. When all the way down, the visor edge is in my line of sight, so I have to leave it slightly raised. But thats no good if the sun is low in the horizon. I might remove it and stick to wearing sunglasses under the helmet. I do like the flip-up feature.

On Monday, Angie and I visited Harley-Davidson of Cincinnati for our scheduled test ride. (HD sent out invitations to potential customers as part of the HD Motorvation event). I rode a FLHTC Electra Glide Classic and Angie rode a Sportster ( I forget exactly which kind). Both of us were very impressed with the bikes. My bike was unbelievably comfortable and effortlessly soaked up all the bumps on the road. And there was plenty of power from the twin cam 96 cu in ( 1573cc) engine- much more that I was used to. And the power delivery was extremely smooth, with Harley’s latest generation fuel injection and the six speed Cruise Drive transmission. Even though I didn’t get beyond 3rd gear in the rush hour traffic, I enjoyed the ride. A Harley-Davidson is not on my shopping list for the immediate future, I would definitely like to own one someday.

may-2007-ride-janes-saddlebag-001.jpgmay-2007-ride-janes-saddlebag-003.jpgmay-2007-ride-janes-saddlebag-002.jpgdscf0509.jpgdscf0503.jpgdscf0501.jpgdscf0526.jpg

 

7 Responses to Weekend Update

  1. Kartik says:

    Cool blog dude!

  2. giest says:

    I don’t think I could handle one of those half tinted visors. Mine have to be all tinted or not. At least that way I can wear sun glasses. I hate anything that cuts across my line of vision. It’s too much of a distraction.

    I’m in the same boat with you for H-D. I would like to own, but maybe sometime down the road.

  3. Sharon says:

    Vinny, I can’t believe you also have the TourMaster Transition Jacket. I bought that jacket a few weeks ago in silver. I like it and thought it would make a good subsitute when I’m not wearing my FirstGear Kilimanjaro. I love the jacket but the Velcro keeps trying to mate with my long, kinky hair!

  4. Sharon says:

    On the helmet. I wondered if the sun visor location would serve every rider. I think my head shape makes the helmet fit in a way that locates the visor just at the right point. And the neck strap, for me is a plus. The strap on my HJC Sy-Max (my other favorite flip up) has the D-ring neck strap and adjusting it bugs me more. Nice write up!

  5. David says:

    brother, you got my oogling at this — 1573cc :O

    wow, now that will be an interesting rip on the highway..

    ride safe
    D

  6. Currently traveling from Miami to LA on Harley. Going through the Internet on my Iphone and came across your website. Nice Blog man.

  7. Dean Jurney says:

    Hi there, I spotted your blog via Yahoo and google while looking for Harley shift linkages and your post caught my interest.

Leave a Reply

